In keeping with our primary mission of educating ourselves and the public we serve, CEOSI has established two scholarships for high school graduates whose prospective careers will place them in key roles in assuring safety in the built environment.


Click Here to Download Scholarship Application



Code Enforcement Officials of Southern Illinois established the Margaret A. Leleniewski scholarship in 2002 The scholarship is in memory of a long-term member of our professional organization, Margaret A. Leleniewski.  Margaret was the Building & Zoning Coordinator/Office Manager of Madison County Planning & Development (formerly known as Madison County Building and Zoning Department), and served as Secretary for the professional Code organization until her death.

The scholarship was established to help educate an individual seeking further education in a construction related field or program and is awarded annually to a senior from a high school located within the organization's membership jurisdiction that is interested in pursuing further education in a building construction related field. Please contact the Scholarship Committee for further information.


Click Here to Download Scholarship Application



Recognizing that the code enforcement profession has an equally important responsibility to educate, as well as regulate, the building trades, along with a recognition of the disparately few opportunities for scholarship and financial aid for trade school students, the Code Enforcement Officials of Southern Illinois created the Building Trades Scholarship in July of 2009. The Building Trades Scholarship awards a $1,000 grant to a high school senior in any one of our member communities who intend to pursue a trade school certification in a building-related discipline. CEOSI is proud to offer this scholarship as a part of its overall commitment to the future of building safety in Southern Illinois. Please contact the Scholarship Committee for further information.


Click Here to Download Scholarship Application

Applications must be received no later that April 30th to be considered.

Scanned applications may also be emailed to:

Communities Eligible for 2020 Scholarships:

City of Alton, IL

City of Breese, IL

City of Carbondale, IL

City of Charleston, IL

City of Collinsville, IL

City of Columbia, IL

Village of East Alton, IL

City of Edwardsville, IL

City of Effingham, IL

City of Fairview Heights, IL

Village of Glen Carbon, IL

Granite City, IL

City of Greenville, IL

City of Herrin, IL

City of Highland, IL

Jersey County, IL

City of Litchfield, IL

City of Marion, IL

City of Mt. Vernon, IL

Village of New Baden, IL

City of O'Fallon, IL

Village of Shiloh, IL

City of Sparta, IL

St. Clair County, IL

City of Troy, IL

City of Waterloo, IL